some image


Vive La France!

Sunday, May 21, 2017   3:00 p.m.

Private estate nestled in the Shaker Heights parklands

Claude Debussy Sonata for Cello and Piano in D minor (1915)

Eugène Ysaÿe Sonata for solo violin No 2 in A minor, Op 27 No 2 (1923)

Gabriel Fauré  Piano Quartet No. 1, in C minor, Op. 15 (1879)


Isabel Trautwein, violin, Joanna Patterson, viola, Tanya Ell, cello, and Patti Wolf, piano offer the Debussy Cello Sonata, Ysaÿe’s Sonata for Violin Solo No 2, and Fauré Piano Quartet in C Minor.

French language and music often have an almost liquid elegance and, in the case of both Debussy’s late cello sonata and his teacher Fauré’s exciting piano quartet, are masterful examples of French Impressionism.

Composer and violinist Ysayë added to Bach’s a set of six (demonically difficult) sonatas for solo violin.

Read about Close Encounters Season 11: 2016-17

Close Encounters Vive La France


Isabel Trautwein, violin; Joanna Patterson, viola; Tanya Ell, cello; and Patti Wolf, piano.

Order now for guaranteed seats!

Individual concert tickets are available for purchase at the Heights Arts gallery, 2175 Lee Road, via phone at 216-371-3457, or online. We are pleased to offer reduced-price tickets for students ages 8-23, thanks to generous funding from the Paul M. Angell Foundation. Students under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult (who also qualifies for the student ticket price).

All concert venues are wheelchair accessible. Directions for concerts at private residences are mailed a week in advance. Advance ticket purchase is necessary as seating is limited.


Individual Concerts $55 | $45 Heights Arts members | $15 Student (optional $15 parent)



We are grateful for the support of our Season 11 Gold Sponsor: Edward Jones Investments



Image: Two Young Girls at the Piano, August Renoir. 1892 The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Musician images courtesy The Cleveland Orchestra