some image


The World’s Best Chamber Music, Jawohl!

Friday, November 18, 2016 at 8:00 p.m.   SOLD OUT

Downtown Cleveland skyloft with panoramic views  

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Clarinet Quintet in A major, K.581

Franz Schubert String Quintet in C major, “Cello Quintet” (1828)

Franz Schubert

The opening concert of our eleventh season of chamber music showcases two lone peaks of chamber masterpieces by Austrian composers: the Mozart Clarinet Quintet in A-Major and Schubert’s Cello Quintet in C-Major, with Isabel Trautwein and Yun-Ting Lee, violins, YuJin, viola, Tanya Ell, and Paul Kushious, cellos, and Robert Woolfrey, clarinet.

Mozart’s Clarinet Quintet, written for his dear friend and clarinetist Anton Stadler, explores an instrument that had recently been innovated and must have spoken deeply to Mozart based upon the utter perfection of this composition. Schubert’s epic Cello Quintet, amongst musicians possibly the most popular of all his works, is the lone Romantic example of a string quartet with the added depth of a second cello. It is a monumental work of transcendent beauty.

Read about Close Encounters Season 11: 2016-17





Isabel Trautwein, Yun-Ting Lee, violins; YuJin, viola; Tanya Ell, Paul Kushious, cellos; Robert Woolfrey, clarinet.


Order now for guaranteed seats!

Individual concert tickets are available for purchase at the Heights Arts gallery, 2175 Lee Road, via phone at 216-371-3457, or online. We are pleased to offer reduced-price tickets for students ages 8-23, thanks so generous funding from the Paul M. Angell Foundation. Students under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult (who also qualifies for the student ticket price).

All concert venues are wheelchair accessible. Directions for concerts at private residences are mailed a week in advance. Advance ticket purchase is necessary as seating is limited.


Individual Concerts $55 | $45 Heights Arts members | $15 Student (optional $15 parent)




We are grateful for the support of our Season 11 Gold Sponsor: Edward Jones Investments






Musician images courtesy The Cleveland Orchestra