_heights arts_ Blog

Gallery Concert

Ekklesia Reed Quintet: Gallery Concert

Saturday May 4, 7–8 p.m.

Ekklésia Reed Quintet is a chamber music ensemble of five instrumentalists who are members of the award-winning and professional wind ensemble Cleveland Winds.

The unique instrumentation of oboe (Stefanie Cohn), clarinet (Emilio Rosario), saxophone (Thomas Lempner), bass clarinet (Travis Hogue-Smith), and bassoon (Philip Kish) offers a rather new palette of color for chamber ensemble sound. Pioneered just over three decades ago by the Dutch quintet Calefax, the reed quintet has begun a whole new genre in the classical music world.

Though strongly influenced by classical traditions, this quintet is open to the influence of world music, jazz, and improvisation. ERQ will be performing works by Nico Muhly, Nina Simone, Mariano Mores, Ton ter Doest, and local composers Jack Ballard and Buck McDaniel.

In addition to becoming established as the first professional reed quintet in Northeast Ohio, ERQ also aims to inspire younger wind players and to encourage the commissioning of new works for reed quintet by composers in and around Northeast Ohio. Visit ERQ online at www.ekklésiareedquintet.webs.com

Facebook Comments