_heights arts_ Blog


Slavic Strings, From our Sleeve to Yours

Sunday, February 26, 2017  3:00 p.m.

Historic Dunham Tavern Museum Barn  SOLD OUT

Antonín Dvořák String Quintet in E-flat Major, Op. 97

Bohuslav Martinů Three Madrigals for Violin and Viola, H. 313

Jörg Widmann Etude no. 6, “Lullaby for Salome”

Close Encounters stringsWhat is better than one viola? Two! This is why Czech composer Antonín Dvořák wrote one of his finest works for viola quintet—though it’s rarely heard. This lively program features contemporary and 19th century works including Martinu’s Madrigals for Violin and Viola, Widmann’s Etude for Solo Violin, and the delightful Dvorak Viola Quintet, with JinJoo Cho, Peter Otto, and Isabel Trautwein, violins, YuJin and Kirsten Docter, violas, and Tanya Ell, cello.

A unique and incredibly difficult new composition for a playing (and sometimes singing) violinist will be performed by Peter Otto. You are sure to enjoy this afternoon of 80% Slavic and 100% fantastic music in the captivating setting of the Cleveland Landmark Dunham Tavern Museum on Euclid Avenue.

Read about Close Encounters Season 11: 2016-17





 JinJoo Cho, Peter Otto, and Isabel Trautwein, violins; YuJin and Kirsten Docter, violas; and Tanya Ell, cello.


Order now for guaranteed seats!

Individual concert tickets are available for purchase at the Heights Arts gallery, 2175 Lee Road, via phone at 216-371-3457, or online. We are pleased to offer reduced-price tickets for students ages 8-23, thanks to generous funding from the Paul M. Angell Foundation. Students under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult (who also qualifies for the student ticket price).

All concert venues are wheelchair accessible. Directions for concerts at private residences are mailed a week in advance. Advance ticket purchase is necessary as seating is limited.


Individual Concerts $55 | $45 Heights Arts members | $15 Student (optional $15 parent)





We are grateful for the support of our Season 11 Gold Sponsor: Edward Jones Investments





Musician images courtesy The Cleveland Orchestra
Facebook Comments