_heights arts_ Blog


Vive La France!

Sunday, May 21, 2017   3:00 p.m.  SOLD OUT

Private estate nestled in the Shaker Heights parklands 

Claude Debussy Sonata for Cello and Piano in D minor (1915)

Eugène Ysaÿe Sonata No. 2 (Obsession) for Violin Solo (1923)

Robert Schumann Piano Quartet Op. 47 in E-flat Major (1842)


Isabel Trautwein, violin, Joanna Patterson, viola, Tanya Ell, cello, and Daniel Shapiro, piano offer the Debussy Cello Sonata, Ysaÿe’s Sonata for Violin Solo No 2, and Schumann’s Piano Quartet.

French language and music often have an almost liquid elegance and, in the case of Debussy’s late cello sonata, is a masterful example of French Impressionism. Composer and violinist Ysayë added to Bach’s a set of six (demonically difficult) sonatas for solo violin.

Schumann’s earlier, romantic quartet was composed in his “chamber music year,” with the piano part intended for his new wife, the gifted pianist Clara Wieck Schumann.

Read about Close Encounters Season 11: 2016-17


Isabel Trautwein, violin; Joanna Patterson, viola; Tanya Ell, cello; and Daniel Shapiro, piano.

Order now for guaranteed seats!

Individual concert tickets are available for purchase at the Heights Arts gallery, 2175 Lee Road, via phone at 216-371-3457, or online. We are pleased to offer reduced-price tickets for students ages 8-23, thanks to generous funding from the Paul M. Angell Foundation. Students under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult (who also qualifies for the student ticket price).

All concert venues are wheelchair accessible. Directions for concerts at private residences are mailed a week in advance. Advance ticket purchase is necessary as seating is limited.


Individual Concerts $55 | $45 Heights Arts members | $15 Student (optional $15 parent)



We are grateful for the support of our Season 11 Gold Sponsor: Edward Jones Investments



Image: Two Young Girls at the Piano, August Renoir. 1892 The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Musician images courtesy The Cleveland Orchestra and Daniel Shapiro, CIM
Facebook Comments